French Property Guides

Our French property guides will help you to get started on finding your dream property in France. Whether you are in the early stages of looking for your first French home or have already decided on buying a chateau in Paris – our guides can help. Perhaps you’re not sure whether you are interested in a Brittany property or a Limousin property – then consult our guides and videos on buying property in France to help you make a more informed choice.

Getting Started

If you are making the first few tentative steps on your property buying journey then our Getting Started Guide  will help. It covers buying a French Property in some detail – legal implications, wills and land, etc. In addition, there is a step by step road map to help you start on the path to buying a property in France.

Video Guides

There is nothing better than seeing something visually – so we have Video Guides to France and her many regions. This will help you appreciate the beauty of each region >> Video Guides. Here is an example:

Region Guides

France is divided into regions – there are 22 regions – such as Brittany, Aquitaine, etc. You may have narrowed your choice to a few regions already. Our Region Guides will give you more background information about the region and the type of French properties for sale along with property prices in the region. Listed below are the regions and their departments:

Alsace: Bas Rhin, Haut Rhin

Aquitaine: Dordogne, Gironde, Lot et Garonne, Pyrenees Atlantiques

Auvergne: Allier, Cantal, Haute Loire, Puy de Dôme

Brittany: Cotes d’Armor, Finistere, Ille et Vilaine, Morbihan

Burgundy: Cote d’Or, Nievre, Saône et Loire, Yonne

Champagne-Ardenne: Ardennes, Aube, Haute Marne, Marne

Centre: Cher, Eure et Loir, Indre, Indre et Loire, Loir et Cher, Loiret

Corsica: Corse du Sud, Haute Corse

Franche-Comte: Doubs, Jura, Territoire de Belfort

Ile-de-France: Paris, Essonne, Hauts de Seine, Seine et Marne, Seine Saint Denis, Val de Marne, Val d’Oise, Yvelines

Languedoc-Roussillon: Aude, Gard, Hérault, Lozère, Pyrénées -Orientales

Limousin: Corrèze, Creuse, Haute Vienne

Lorraine: Meurthe et Moselle, Meuse, Moselle, Vosges

Lower(Basse) Normandy: Calvados, Manche, Orne

Midi-Pyrenees: Ariège, Aveyron, Gers, Haute Garonne, Lot, Hautes-Pyrénées, Tarn, Tarn et Garonne

Nord Pas-de-Calais: Nord, Pas de Calais

Picardy: Aisne, Oise, Somme

Poitou-Charentes: Charente, Charente Maritime, Deux Sèvres, Vienne

Provence Alpes Cote d’Azur: Alpes de Haute Provence, Hautes Alpes, Alpes Maritimes, Bouches du Rhône, Var, Vaucluse

Rhone-Alpes: Ain, Ardèche, Drôme, Isère, Loire, Rhône, Savoie, Haute Savoie

Upper (Haute) Normandy: Eure, Seine Maritime

Western Loire (Pays de la Loire): Loire Atlantique, Maine et Loire, Mayenne, Sarthe, Vendée

Department Guides

The regions are divided into 96 départements (departments). Our selected Department Guides provide the essential information about these areas with weather, links for maps and books and properties for sale in these departments. For properties in each department << click here.


Of course, we have a large selection of books about each department and region of France. Many more Books to provide essential information about buying a property in France, living and retiring to France, taxes, laws and travel.


A full range of Michelin, IGN Bleue maps for all the regions and departments of France.


How often do you need to convert from Euros to £ Sterling or US dollar. We have just the tool for you – currency converter.