Mayenne Department


Mayenne is one of the lesser known areas of France; it is about a three hour car journey from the major Channel ports.

Mayenne is part of the current region of Pays de la Loire and is surrounded by the départements of Manche, Orne, Sarthe, Maine-et-Loire, and Ille-et-Vilaine.

The inhabitants of the département are called Mayennais. If you are after unspoilt green countryside, with rich cultural heritage or plenty of outdoor activities, Mayenne is the place to be.

Days Out in Mayenne:

  • Evron – an abbey church, Notre Dame de L’Epine
  • Historical Town of Sainte Suzanne
  • Caves & canyon of Saulges
  • Jublains – prominent Roman site

Mayenne property